News Features

War Heroes

By Barry Ross
There was much joy among Sydney sporting fans when it was announced the Sydney Cricket Ground would host its first ever Rugby League Test. The date was 29 June 1914 and Australia defeated England 12-7.
But just two years later a player from both teams was killed in France in World War One during the fierce fighting at the Battle of the Somme. Tragically, neither man’s bodies were ever found but they are remembered for their heroic actions in both of their nations.
Robert Richardson Tidyman was born at Townsville on 6 October 1891. He moved to Sydney with his family as a young boy and lived at Queen Street Woollahra. After taking up rugby league at the local school, he quickly established himself as a star player. He was selected in junior representative teams from the Woollahra Borough club and was selected in Eastern Suburbs first grade side as five eighth for the opening competition match of 1913. This was at the Sydney Cricket Ground on 3 May 1913 and Easts beat Newtown 17-15. This was the first ever rugby league club game to be played at the Sydney Cricket Ground.


Johnny Raper's 78th birthday celebration

John Raper MBE celebrated his 78th birthday on Wednesday 12 April. He enjoyed a pleasant lunch with family, friends and former team-mates at the Prince Hotel, Kirrawee in Sydney’s south.

Carol Raper delivering John his birthday cake


John Hobby - A bush rugby league legend

For a man who never played Sydney football, John Hobby had an amazing 17 year career.

He toured New Zealand with NSW Country in 1968, as well as representing Country Seconds four times, playing six matches against International touring teams, representing three divisions in a total of 30 plus games, playing for four Country Groups and winning six Premierships as a captain/coach.

Highly respected by his team-mates and opponents alike, John gave back plenty to the game he loved after his playing career had finished.


Charlie Kentwell - Illawarra Elite

The Illawarra region have produced some great wingers since the code was first played in the Wollongong district in the 1911 season. 

Among these stars are Charlie "Saus" Hazelton (1 Test), Ian Moir (12 Tests), Bob Dimond (1948 Kangaroo), Peter Dimond (10 Tests), Les Hanigan (2 Tests), Brett Morris (18 Tests), Rod Wishart (17 Tests), Allan McMahon (5 Tests) and Charlie Kentwell. 

While Charlie Kentwell did not play a Test, in fact he did not even play Sydney football, he was still one of the best wingers ever produced by the strong Illawarra competition. 


Illawarra Committee Kick Off Club 2017

Illawarra's first Kick Off Club for 2017 was held at Kiama Leagues Club on Friday 24 February with 125 supporters enjoying the coastal views and generous hospitality of the Leagues Club.


S.G Ball 1989 - Where are they now?

by Barry Ross

In 1989, the Illawarra Steelers won the S.G (Samuel George) Ball Cup. The squad was Greg Clarke, Tony Crnkovic, John Cross, Ben Dabin, Craig Dixon, Adam Dunn, Ryan Girdler, Simon Lacey, Paul Malone, Michael Misiti, Darren Motbey, John Neden, Paul Nigro, David Riolo, Jason Seadon, Craig Simon, John Simon, Robert Walsh. Coach Bill Wright, Manager Allan Barry.

The S.G Ball was an under 17 competition in 1989 and several of these players went on to big things in our game. It is interesting to see what they did, football-wise, down the track.


Donate to the Men of League



  • 11.11.16
    Help us, Help them this Christmas

    When the rugby league community needs help, they turn to us...  81 year old Ron Atkins is an icon in the Brisbane rugby league community. Not just because Ron was a pioneering indigenous first grader in Brisbane’s competitive competition, but also because he is a stalwart and founding father of the Brisbane Wests Old Boys and the Men of League Foundation’s Brisbane Committee. Ron Atkins (left) on one of his many visits for the Brisbane Committee. Also pictured John Murray (centre) and Vance Rennie (right).  Ron began his playing career with Wests Ithacas under-15s, but it was as much his contribution to the rugby league community off the field, as on, that has made him the Brisbane patriarch that he is today. After a lifetime of service to rugby league, Ron himself needed a hand-up. That’s where his beloved Men of League Foundation stepped in. Thanks to people like you, we’ve been able to help Ron’s family – including four daughters and 13 grandchildren – visit him in hospital after a recent operation. Ron’s past dedication to undertaking countless welfare visits doesn’t exempt him from needing a visit from friends himself. The Foundation’s Brisbane committee, of which Ron was still the President as recently as last year, now call in to say hello every week. That’s what mates do in the rugby league community. Gary Purcell, Ron Atkins, Lionel Morgan and Mick Retchless. As Christmas approaches, we ask you to remember the Men of League Foundation. A donation to us at this time of year will help us reach more of our community who are most at need. Click here to donate to our Christmas Appeal. Perhaps, in replacement of that Christmas gift card, a pair of socks or a new tie, you’d like to give the gift of support through a generous donation to us. This can be a gift in the name of someone else. Your present to them this Christmas, can be your donation to us. Make a Christmas donation to us here. Your gift this Christmas will provide us with the capacity to make more connections with people who may be experiencing loneliness and help those truly in need from within our rugby league family. Ron Atkins, John Reddy, Les Geeves and Norm Clark.    

    Cox Plate Raffle Winner

    Congratulations to Grahame Crowe who won our $10,000 cash prize Cox Plate Raffle on Saturday! Thanks to everyone who entered and helped us raise funds to care for the men, women and children of the rugby league community.  Stay tuned for our Race Day Gallery soon...   

  • 19.09.16
    Winners of 'Never Before, Never Again'

    Winners of 'Never Before, Never Again' Larry Writer’s classic story of St George’s 11 straight premierships, 'Never Before, Never Again', was first published in 1995, and has been refreshed to celebrate the 50th anniversary of the Dragons’ 11th Grand Final. Congratulations to our winners of this superb rugby league page-turner: Stephen Etheredge Sarah Fairley Laurence Federico Lance Henry David Jenkins Joe Kinnane Eddie Milton Tom Sewell Paul Smyth John Turner The answer to the question was the great St. George Dragons!   

    2016 QLD Annual Lunch Gallery

    The Men of League Foundation celebrated the 2016 Queensland Annual Lunch at the Brisbane Convention and Exhibition Centre with a 'Dual International' theme on Friday 2 September.  Special guests inlcuded Mat Rogers, Brad Thorn, Lote Tuqiri, Michale O'Connor, John Brass and Geoff Richardson.  Click here to see all the pictures from the great day.  

  • 22.07.16
    View our Gala Dinner gallery here

    The Men of League Gala Dinner kicked off the Men of League Round on Tuesday 19 July at the Four Points by Sheraton. Our Gala Dinner helped us in honouring the families among us who have fallen on hard times and help us raise essential funds so that we may continue to care for the men, women and children of the rugby league community. Click here to view our Gala Dinner gallery.